

Council of Governors

Mental Health Legislation Committee Background Reading

Dr Olayinka Monisola Fadahunsi-Oluwole,

Chair of Mental Health Legislation Committee and Non-Executive Director

16 October 2024



Key items received at Mental Health Legislation Committee during 2023-24



The Committee has been presented with quarterly reports, departmental risk registers, and annual meeting effectiveness reports from:

- Mental Health Legislation Operational Group (MHLOG)
- Least Restrictive Practice Oversight Group (LRPOG)

The Committee has been presented with quarterly reports from:

- Human Rights Framework
- Associate Mental Health Act Managers (AMHAM)

The committee has also considered reports on:

- Board Assurance Framework
- Corporate Risk Register
- Legal Claims Report
- Policy Governance Group Report
- 2022/23 MHLC Annual Report including Terms of Reference Review
- Mental Health Act Scheme of Delegation
- Mental Health Bill
- Use of Force Annual Report
- Clinical Safety at Maple Ward
- NPCS 010 Mental Health Act Code of Practice Equality and Human Rights Policy
- NP 030 Use of Force Policy (June 2024)



Mental Health Legislation Committee



The Mental Health Legislation Committee provides assurance to the Board of Directors in consultation with the other Board Committees that adequate and appropriate governance structures, processes and controls are in place throughout the Trust.

The Committee has primary responsibility for receiving assurance regarding all aspects of:

- The Mental Health Act 1983 (as amended)
- The Mental Capacity Act 2005
- The Human Rights Act 1998
- The Mental Health Units (Use of Force) Act 2018
- The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DOLS)
- Any associated secondary pieces of legislation eg. Codes of Practice.

The Committee shall provide assurance to the Board on the probity of the Trust and support the other Board Committees in the achievement of clinical effectiveness and safe outcomes for service users, maintaining positive service user and carer experience and equality and inclusion.



Mental Health Legislation Committee



This committee meets for 2.5 hours every quarter. The membership has changed throughout the year due to vacancies and personnel changes.

Membership:

- Chair: Dr Olayinka Monisola Fadahunsi-Oluwole, Non-Executive Director
- Non-Executive Directors: Professor Brendan Stone and Mark Dundon (March 2023 – July 2024). Alternating NED cover will be provided until the vacancy is filled.
- Medical Director (Executive Lead): Dr Helen Crimlisk
- Director of Nursing, Professions and Quality: Salli Midgley
- Director of Corporate Governance: Deborah Lawrenson
- Head of Service: Greg Hackney

Attendees:

- Director of Operations
- Clinical Director: Rehabilitation and Specialist Services
- Clinical Director: Community and Acute Services
- Senior Practitioner in Learning Disability Services
- Head of Corporate Assurance
- Associate Medical Director
- Lead Social Worker
- Head of Mental Health Legislation, Human Rights & Chaplaincy
- Human Rights Officer
- Head of Nursing
- Head of Nursing for Least Restrictive Practice
- Head of Safeguarding
- Service user/Carer representative
- Committee Administrator
- Governor Observer



Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS FT Corporate Governance Structure

